A joint Gestalt Conference at the crossroads of civilizations



The Aesthetic *of* Otherness:

meeting at the boundary in a desensitized world 22nd-25th September 2016 - Taormina - Italy



Dear colleagues and friends,
Dear members of AAGT and EAGT,
Dear Gestalt community worldwide,

July 15th, 2015

CALL FOR PROPOSALS

We are delighted to invite you to submit your proposals for this unique, first, joint Conference of the **A**ssociation for the **A**dvancement of **G**estalt **T**herapy and the **E**uropean **A**ssociation of **G**estalt **T**herapy, which will be held in Taormina, Sicily in September 2016.

The conference is titled:

The Aesthetic of Otherness: meeting at the boundary in a desensitized world. A joint AAGT and EAGT Gestalt Conference at the crossroads of civilization.

The conference theme focuses on some cornerstones and growing edges of Gestalt Therapy theory and practice. We will explore the aesthetic dimensions of otherness in the contemporary world that seems characterized by a high degree of desensitization. The proposals are expected to have a scientific, social, cultural or political focus, and will relate to the theme of the conference and/or the experiment of this joint conference.

There are opportunities for lectures (½ hour); workshops (1½ hours); a few panels (1½ hours) and posters. **

The evaluation of proposals for acceptance at the conference will be a three-step process, which includes blind peer review:

- 1. Firstly all identifying features will be removed.
- 2. Secondly each proposal will be given a total score from three blind reviews.***
- A third evaluation process conducted by members of the Program Committee, will add to
 the scores using a number of criteria, including relevance to the conference theme,
 innovation and novelty of style and content; geographical diversity; as well as inclusivity of
 newer and experienced presenters.

We are looking forward to receiving your proposals very much and feel sure they will contribute to making this conference an exciting, engaging, experimental, experience of learning, contact and growth.

Local Organizer SIPG (Società Italiana Psicoterapia Gestalt)



Conference conveners Gianni Francesetti, Burt Lazarin, Margherita Spagnuolo Lobb, Jelena Zeleskov Djoric Planning and Scientific Committee

Claire Asherson Bartram, Dan Bloom, Michele Cannavò, Dominique Chabre, Gail Feinstein, Gianni Francesetti, Cathy Gray, Elena Guerri, Perry Klepner, Brad Larsen, Roberta La Rosa, Burt Lazarin, Nurith Levi, Dina Miller, Jack Van Liesdonk, Sue O'Rourke, Mark Reck, Jan Roubal, Margherita Spagnuolo Lobb, Silvia Tosi, Jelena Zeleskov-Djoric.

A joint Gestalt Conference at the crossroads of civilizations



The Aesthetic *of* Otherness:

European Association
for Gestalt Therapy

meeting at the boundary in a desensitized world 22nd-25th September 2016 - Taormina - Italy

For your information:

- Please refer to the conference web-site to get accurate directions as to the formulation of proposals.
- You must be registered in order to submit a proposal.
- Favorable consideration will be afforded to members of both Associations.
- The deadline for submission is: October 31st 2015.
- For planning purposes, proposals received after the deadline will not be considered.

PLEASE JOIN US!

Please distribute this call for proposals widely among your colleagues and students.

Sincerely,

The Program Committee

Nurith Levi, Roberta La Rosa, Suc D'Rourke

- *For those of you wishing to propose a Panel, please provide an abstract, including the main topic/Idea/dilemma/ etc. and possibly the names of colleagues that will present with you or that you would like to recruit. If you feel that you need further advice or help in shaping your panel the Program Committee will gladly try to help.
- **Only sessions of an hour or more will be considered for Continuing Education (CE) Credit Hours.
- *** see details in the second attachment "call for volunteers"

Local Organizer SIPG (Società Italiana Psicoterapia Gestalt)



Conference conveners Gianni Francesetti, Burt Lazarin, Margherita Spagnuolo Lobb, Jelena Zeleskov Djoric Planning and Scientific Committee

Claire Asherson Bartram, Dan Bloom, Michele Cannavò, Dominique Chabre, Gail Feinstein, Gianni Francesetti, Cathy Gray, Elena Guerri, Perry Klepner, Brad Larsen, Roberta La Rosa, Burt Lazarin, Nurith Levi, Dina Miller, Jack Van Liesdonk, Sue O'Rourke, Mark Reck, Jan Roubal, Margherita Spagnuolo Lobb, Silvia Tosi, Jelena Zeleskov-Djoric.